Welcome to at Louis Place

(a liberatory community for writers)



︎︎︎



We are writers, artists, activists, and dreamers who hold each other accountable through shared writing practice.


About us


We are a community of generous readers and writers sharing ideas, listening to each other, studying together, learning from one another, and taking each other seriously. We are writing glossaries, short stories, screenplays, guides, essays, ghost stories, poems, morning pages, memoirs, syllabi, haiku, artist statements, journals, notes, fellowship applications, plays, sorrow songs, proposals. 

What we do:

Quiet daily co-writing
8-9 am EST Monday through Friday
2-3 pm EST Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, Sunday

Optional weekly small group cohorts
for support and feedback / feed forward (we call these Trajectory)

Monthly generative writing sessions
(we call these Orbit) + occasional special sessions 

Need a reader / be a reader
for your applications and submissions + occasional special readings and discussions about publications by our writers

Library of writing prompts & reflections
from readings and proposals that surface in the community—with new additions every week.

Shooting the shit weekly
Strategizing about research software, residency applications. Also just hanging out.

Periodic writing retreats
Sometimes we write together all day.

Yes, at Louis Place is for you if:

✌🏾 You seek nonhierarchical, interdisciplinary, intergenerational intellectual exchange

✌🏾 You write or think meaningfully about writing in relation to your creative work

✌🏾 You want to be in comfortable, private, and drama-free conversation with ambitious writers (editors, playwrights, scholars, performers, artists, curators, activists) from around the world. We are in the cities and states currently known as Lima, Austin, Chicago, Mexico City, Oklahoma City, Brooklyn, New Haven, Washington DC, Palo Alto, Harlem, New Jersey, Atlanta, and more.  

✌🏾 You prioritize Black voices & revolutionary dreams

✌🏾 You want to share ideas and feedback and frustrations with other writers.

✌🏾 You are willing to give as much as you receive from a community.


Here’s what we’re up to this month.

Click here to learn how to join us (it’s easy!)

Want to talk to a person? Request a chat.

What’s on—
October 2020


At Louis Place is a community for writers. All activities are open to every writer in our community. Here’s a selection:

We write together for an hour or two every day (8-9am EST Monday through Friday; 2-3pm Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, and Sunday). Not everyone can join us every day. Some of our writers don’t participate in daily writing at all. For others, quiet daily cowriting is an important anchor.

We shoot the shit every Monday sometime between 9am and 9pm EST. Topics for these casual conversations emerge from the community. For example:

Shooting the shit

MONDAY, October 12
6pm EST / 5pm CST / 3pm PST

We’ll be talking about research stuff (e.g. what the hell do I do with all my PDFs? How do I use Zotero? Is there another way?) 
Shooting the shit

MONDAY, October 19
2pm EST / 1pm CST / 11am PST / 8pm CEST

We’ll be talking about hopping from one residency or fellowship to another—pros, cons, strategies

We host monthly generative writing sessions led by Quincy as well as occasional special guest sessions. For example:

⛹🏾‍♂️ “EKPHRASTIC! description, movement, velocity” ︎︎︎

THURSDAY, October 8
6:30pm EST / 5:30pm CST / 3:30pm PST
(now available as a video download). 

A generative writing and study session facilitated by Anjuli Raza Kolb 
👥 October Orbit ︎︎︎

WEDNESDAY, October 21
6:30pm EST / 5:30pm CST / 3:30pm PST (available afterward as a PDF, video, or audio download).

A generative writing session (one in our monthly Orbit series) facilitated by Quincy Flowers 

About half of us link up with small groups—we call these Trajectory—for “workshop,” for accountability, or a little bit of each. All groups are interdisciplinary and include a mix of writers from different backgrounds. We call the groups Trajectory, and we’ve got something for folks in almost every time zone, including weekdays and weekends. We’re currently running five groups meeting weekly and one group meeting monthly. We’re planning to add a couple of new groups in November.

We create a weekly roundup of prompts and reflections from writers, articles, and events discussed in the community. For now, these live in our online hub. However, we’re going to share them with everyone soon—sign up for our mailing list (below) to be the first to know. 


 

Want more?

We send a weekly letter most Sundays with interesting writerly things to read, at Louis Place updates, and special events. Unsubscribe at any time.

Thank you!

I’m ready to write at Louis Place.


Step 1: First up: complete a short form that collects information about your access needs, your current time zone, and your writing goals. The form also describes our sliding scale contribution philosophy and our community compass. If you want to join a Trajectory small group, you can register your request on the form and we’ll send information about the options. Don’t worry, no writing sample required. 

Step 2: After you submit, give us a few days to read your materials; we’ll send you a personal response with your next steps. 

Step 3: Check out. You will receive your checkout instructions via email.

Step 4: You’ll receive an email with a special link to access together.atlouisplace.com.

I’d like to learn more.


Not quite ready? You have a few options. 

︎ If you have questions, we’re happy to chat with you via Zoom or email to figure out whether at Louis Place is right for you. You can request a call by completing the application (preferable) or sending us a note. 

︎ In the meantime, join our mailing list below, get a glimpse of what’s coming up in the community, or check out our Instagram.

Thank you!