︎LAUNCHING VIRTUALLY JULY 2020︎


Workshops at Louis Place


...are for artists, writers, thinkers, dreamers, agents, and citizens. (In other words, they are for you!)

Traditional writing workshops emphasize “craft,” which is understood as the neutral application of some kind of ahistorical technique. And yet, our narratives are irreducibly individual, proudly and meaningfully situated at the unique coordinates that reflect our relationships, our personal histories,  our politics. Workshops at Louis Place examine the why and for what of our creative decisions. 

At Louis Place is a community that takes ideas seriously. All forms of storytelling are welcome.

ORBIT WORKSHOP


4 WEEK SESSION
July 29; August 5, 12, 19
(Via Zoom)
6:30-8:00 PM Eastern
5:30-7:00 PM Central
3:30-5:00 PM Pacific
FREE ($225)


Feeling dried up (or revved up)?
Spiritually exhausted (or energized)?
Full of fire but nothing’s cooking?
Ready to refuel?

Let’s begin with “What if...?” and end with a new world.


Overview
Minds are elastic; they contain multitudes. At Louis Place, generative writing classes are an invitation to stretch your imagination in every direction—backward toward memories, histories, and archives; outward toward our neighbors and communities; and, of course, forward toward the future.

Who is this for?
Our orbit workshop is designed for anyone who wants a nudge in the direction of reflection and creativity.

If you’re too busy for homework, this class is for you: all you need is a notebook, your favorite pencil, and an open mind.

No negative feedback here—if you haven’t taken a creative writing course since junior high, you are welcome to join us. Similarly, experienced writers ready to experiment without judgement are welcome. 

There will be room to improvise with lived experience and speculate outside of it; “poetry” “fiction” “nonfiction” etc. are all welcome here.

Adults only, please.

What will we do?
We’ll be reading together, responding to writing prompts, and sharing drafts without judgment. Our prompts will focus on mining historical and archival materials as well as our own experiences. Come prepared to write.
SPACE LIMITED -
REGISTER NOW


SIGN UP


(make sure to mention
ORBIT WORKSHOP
in your email)

SPACE LIMITED -
REGISTER NOW


SIGN UP

(make sure to mention
TRAJECTORY WORKSHOP in your email)

TRAJECTORY WORKSHOP


6 WEEK SESSION
July 13, 20, 27; August 3, 10, 17
(Via Zoom)
6:30-9:00 PM Eastern
5:30-8:00 PM Central
3:30-6:00 PM Pacific
FREE ($425)

Overview
Dear crafters, 
dear grammarians,
dear  epiphanists,
dear technical specialists and literary fetishists:

We offer you this simple challenge:

What world are your nuts and bolts constructing? 

Who is this for?
Our trajectory workshop is designed for writers working on a narrative project that is ready for feedback.

Participants should be prepared for a weekly commitment, which includes writing and peer critique. 


All forms of storytelling are welcome. 

What will we do? 
The workshop will be divided between craft lectures and discussion of creative work by your peers. You will be required to sustain an independent writing practice. Close reading of peer work will take place outside of class.
Broadcasting from somewhere in East Brooklyn. Join our listsend a message, or find us on Instagram @atlouisplace