What’s on—
October 2020


At Louis Place is a community for writers. All activities are open to every writer in our community. Here’s a selection:

We write together for an hour or two every day (8-9am EST Monday through Friday; 2-3pm Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, and Sunday). Not everyone can join us every day. Some of our writers don’t participate in daily writing at all. For others, quiet daily cowriting is an important anchor.

We shoot the shit every Monday sometime between 9am and 9pm EST. Topics for these casual conversations emerge from the community. For example:

Shooting the shit

MONDAY, October 12
6pm EST / 5pm CST / 3pm PST

We’ll be talking about research stuff (e.g. what the hell do I do with all my PDFs? How do I use Zotero? Is there another way?) 
Shooting the shit

MONDAY, October 19
2pm EST / 1pm CST / 11am PST / 8pm CEST

We’ll be talking about hopping from one residency or fellowship to another—pros, cons, strategies

We host monthly generative writing sessions led by Quincy as well as occasional special guest sessions. For example:

⛹🏾‍♂️ “EKPHRASTIC! description, movement, velocity” ︎︎︎

THURSDAY, October 8
6:30pm EST / 5:30pm CST / 3:30pm PST
(now available as a video download). 

A generative writing and study session facilitated by Anjuli Raza Kolb 
👥 October Orbit ︎︎︎

WEDNESDAY, October 21
6:30pm EST / 5:30pm CST / 3:30pm PST (available afterward as a PDF, video, or audio download).

A generative writing session (one in our monthly Orbit series) facilitated by Quincy Flowers 

About half of us link up with small groups—we call these Trajectory—for “workshop,” for accountability, or a little bit of each. All groups are interdisciplinary and include a mix of writers from different backgrounds. We call the groups Trajectory, and we’ve got something for folks in almost every time zone, including weekdays and weekends. We’re currently running five groups meeting weekly and one group meeting monthly. We’re planning to add a couple of new groups in November.

We create a weekly roundup of prompts and reflections from writers, articles, and events discussed in the community. For now, these live in our online hub. However, we’re going to share them with everyone soon—sign up for our mailing list (below) to be the first to know. 


 

Want more?

We send a weekly letter most Sundays with interesting writerly things to read, at Louis Place updates, and special events. Unsubscribe at any time.

Thank you!